Literary Program 2019

books, brews, poetry, reading, writing, sharing, tweeting, blogging, gossipping, listening, talking, story-telling (so you think “brews” doesn’t fit? read on!)

We’ve gone beyond a contest for 2019! We’ve returned with our contest and expanded the number of prizes and increased the value of our prizes. On top of that we’re holding a book launch and poetry reading night featuring Brian Henderson and Edward Carson. Brian and Edward will also be holding a roundtable discussion on getting published and a poetry writing workshop. You can also sign up for a two-part series of discussions based on the book “Show Your Work” by Austen Kleon.  Lead by Dr. Sharon Lauricella of UOIT, this series of two meet ups was a hit in 2018 and we’ve brought it back as part of our Literary Program. Our June program will also include the celebration wrap up to our Literary Contest with readings by the winners and the awarding of the prizes.

Sign up now and put these dates in your calendar.

Tuesday June 11, 2-4 pm – Getting Published: A Round Table Discussion. You’ll want to sign up to chat with these two legends of Canadian publishing, Brian Henderson and Edward Carson. At Scugog Council for the Arts, 181 Perry Street, unit G-1. $45 fee and Registration will be required.

Register for Getting Published here.

Tuesday June 11, 7 pm – Book Launches and readings, featuring Brian Henderson and Edward Carson at Old Flame Brewery. After this reading, we will announce the finalists in our Literary contest. Free Event. Grab your beer at 7, readings start at 7:30.

Wednesday June 12, 10:30 – 12:30 – Poetry Writing Workshop with Brian Henderson and Edward Carson. Location: Scugog Council for the Arts, 181 Perry Street, unit G-1, $45 fee and registration is required.

Register for Writing Workshop here.

Thursday June 13 and Thursday June 20, 2:00 – 4:30 both days – Show Your Work! with Dr. Sharon Lauricella and Marion Meyers. It’s like a book club! We’ll discuss the ideas in Show Your Work by Austin Kleon with  a focus on writers, bloggers and tweeters. Location: Scugog Council for the Arts, unit G-1, $45 fee and registration is required.

Register for Book Club Discussion here.

Wednesday June 12, 7 pm – Literary Contest Winner’s Ceremony and Readings. Free event, buy your own food and drink, arrive at 7 to settle in and order, festivities begin at 7:30.

Literary Contest 2019 – Winners List!

Youth – Poetry

1st Place  “Raphael” by Atticus Cox, prize $300

2nd Place “Photographs” by Antonia Haynos-Owen, prize $150

Adult – Creative Non-fiction

1st Place “Story W/O Conflict” by Kerry Craven, prize $300

2nd Place “School of Hard Knocks” by Aisha Ashraf, prize $150

HM “Exhumation” by William Eby and Laura Suchan, prize $50

Adult – Fiction

1st Place “Love is Like Lidocaine” by Jann Everard, prize $300

2nd Place “Contact” by Kaireen Adamson, prize $150

HM “The Golden Hour” by Kim McDougall, prize $50

Adult – Poetry

1st Place “Migrations” by Dorothy Sjoholm, prize $300

2nd Place “Bridge Pose” by Kate Marshall Flaherty, prize $150

HM “Herself” by Clare Bolton, prize $50

Youth 15-21 & Adults 22+

Enter in one of two age groups, either youth or Adults 22+. Each entrant can enter 1-3 pieces of writing, and any mix of fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction. The cost to enter 1-3 pieces of work is $20 for adults and $10 for youth.

$3,000 in Cash Prizes!

First prize in both poetry, fiction and creative non-fiction for both the Adult and Youth categories is $300. Second prize in both categories for both age groups is $150. And there’s an honourable mention prize of $50. That’s $3,000 in prizes.


Enter the Literary Contest HERE

Contest closes Thursday May 30, 2019           Pay for ADULT entry HERE   

                Pay for YOUTH entry HERE

Announcing the 2017 Winners!

Prose Winners

1st Place – Elaine Jackson

2nd Place – Johanna Selles

3rd Place – Barbara Hunt

Honorable Mention Presented To Aisha Ashraf

Poetry Winners

1st Place – Katie Flaherty

2nd Place – Susie Whelehan

3rd Place – Teegan Mannion

Honorable Mention Presented To Katie Flaherty

Youth Winners

1st Place – Myanna Hansen

2nd Place – Jerry Bonkowski

3rd Place – Ceili Peterson

Past Winners!

2016 Winners!

Prose Winners

1st Place – Cheryl MacLean

2nd Place – Fran Turner

3rd Place – Suzanne Robinson

Honorable Mention Presented To Greer Roberts, Vera Constantineau, and Jerry Bonkowski

Poetry Winners

1st Place – John Lee

2nd Place – Dorita Peer

3rd Place – Janis MacCallen

Honorable Mention Presented To Erika Willeart, Janis MacCallen, Heather Parkinson, and Johanna Gail

2015 Winners!

Prose Winners

1st Place – Susan Wadds

2nd Place – Lori Twining

3rd Place – Annabelle Jane Murray


Poetry Winners

1st Place – Annabelle Jane Murray

2nd Place – Janis McCallen

3rd Place – Pamela Meacher

Thank You to our Sponsors and Partners

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This