Announcing the 2017 Winners!

Prose Winners

1st Place – Elaine Jackson

2nd Place – Johanna Selles

3rd Place – Barbara Hunt

Honorable Mention Presented To Aisha Ashraf

Poetry Winners

1st Place – Katie Flaherty

2nd Place – Susie Whelehan

3rd Place – Teegan Mannion

Honorable Mention Presented To Katie Flaherty

Youth Winners

1st Place – Myanna Hansen

2nd Place – Jerry Bonkowski

3rd Place – Ceili Peterson

The SCA Literary Contest celebrated it’s 7th year this year, with over six winners in our three categories. The literary contest is a chance for local writers to submit either prose or poetry to be juried. Up to three winners are selected per category, and monetary prizes are awarded. We accept entries in the categories of prose and poetry, 2017 introduced the youth category for ages 12 to 18 for both poetry and prose.

Entry fee: $20 first entry in each category.  $5 for subsequent entry in same category

Maximum  3 entries per genre.  No fee for Youth entries.

Maximum 2500 words Prose, 100 lines Poetry (per poem)

  • All entries must be EMAILED by midnight EST March 19, 2017.
  • Include one cover page, regardless of number of entries submitted including

your name, complete mailing address, telephone number and email address.

  • Only previously unpublished work may be entered. No simultaneous entries.
  • Judging is blind. Do not print, type or write your name on the text pages of your entry.


Prose entries must be:

  •                 Typed and double spaced with a title
  •                 Page number on each page
  •                 NO author’s name on manuscript

Poetry entries must be:

  •                 Typed and single spaced
  •                 Poems that run more than 1 page need title and page number of each page
  •                 NO author’s name on manuscript


Email to: Online entries only.

For more information and online payment using PayPal visit:

Payment can be made online or by mail. Send cheque or money order, payable to Scugog Council for the Arts, or drop off to 181 Perry Street, Unit G-1, Port Perry, ON L9L 1A7. Payment must be received by the contest deadline or entries will be invalid.

Deadline Extended to April 2 2017

Thank you to everyone who submitted, and to our partners and sponsors who helped make this years contest happen.

Check back in 2018 for our next Literary Contest!!

Past Winners!

2016 Winners!

Prose Winners

1st Place – Cheryl MacLean

2nd Place – Fran Turner

3rd Place – Suzanne Robinson

Honorable Mention Presented To Greer Roberts, Vera Constantineau, and Jerry Bonkowski

Poetry Winners

1st Place – John Lee

2nd Place – Dorita Peer

3rd Place – Janis MacCallen

Honorable Mention Presented To Erika Willeart, Janis MacCallen, Heather Parkinson, and Johanna Gail

2015 Winners!

Prose Winners

1st Place – Susan Wadds

2nd Place – Lori Twining

3rd Place – Annabelle Jane Murray

Poetry Winners

1st Place – Annabelle Jane Murray

2nd Place – Janis McCallen

3rd Place – Pamela Meacher

Thank You to our Sponsors and Partners


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This